Until Friday Night by Abbi Glines. 

Okay, so I just stayed up all night reading this book. So I had to put down all my thoughts on this book. It’s currently 7am, so I’m sorry if this review doesn’t make a whole lot of sense. I’m super sleep deprived but this book was totally worth it. 

To everyone who knows him, West Ashby has always been that guy: the cocky, popular, too-handsome-for-his-own-good football god. But on the inside he’s grief-stricken – his father is dying and he hasn’t told anyone because he can’t face the truth.

Now, as his pain grows unbearable, West finally decides he needs to talk to someone about his dad. So in the dark shadows of a party, he tells the one girl who doesn’t speak everything he can’t tell anyone else. West expected to feel relief, a flood of emotions – but what he didn’t expect was for Maggie Carleton to reply. For her to reveal a pain even deeper than his own. And, for them to form a connection so strong that he couldn’t ever let her go.

Wow. Okay so. This book was nothing like what I imagined it would be. I should have known better! It touched on some pretty deep stuff. Maggie has seen horrific things in her past and as a result, she no longer speaks. Until West gives her something to come back from the edge for. This book is so raw and full of emotions, but also heart-wrechingly sweet. I was expecting a light read, of some teenage drama, but thankfully this was the complete opposite. 
I can’t even begin to say how much I love these characters. Maggie and West are freaking adorable together, and I could not keep the silly grin off my face through the whole book even through my tears. (And there’ll be plenty of those, too). I love how West has this facade that he’s hiding behind, yet he’s so fragile on the inside, yet Glines still manages to portray him as the alpha despite the rawness. And I cannot get over Maggie. It was all just too perfect. 

I’ve only ever read Glines’ existence series before this and I managed to mess up the order (I somehow read 3 before 2 – I’m not sure how, I’m a douche), but I much prefer Glines writing about real life scenarios, because she manages too keep it so raw and intense, but I never felt overpowered by it. All in all, I loved this book. I cannot wait to read the next book in the Field Party series; Under the Lights! 

Leave a Reply

